Ireland Part I

With a nice long break from classes (even though we have only been at it for two weeks), it was the perfect time to take a trip. After spending some time in Belfast this summer, I knew that Ireland would always be one of my all time favorite places. Ever. So I decided to do a bit more exploring of The Emerald Isle during the most recent break. Since I had been to Dublin this summer, I wanted to go somewhere new for this trip, so my first stop was Donegal Town, which was beautiful.

Highlights include:

Donegal Castle

thumb_IMG_5791_1024

thumb_IMG_5789_1024

thumb_IMG_5753_1024
Check out how intricate the fireplace is. Maybe someday if I’m lucky, I’ll have a fireplace with my family crest hand carved into it…J.O.K.E.

Walks along the bay

thumb_IMG_5825_1024

thumb_IMG_5827_1024

and the Franciscan Abbey ruins

thumb_IMG_5799_1024

thumb_IMG_5800_1024

thumb_IMG_5812_1024

The next stop was Galway, sort of. I actually spent one of the two days that I was there on Inis Mor, the largest of the Aran Islands. Unfortunately, it was POURING RAIN the whole time, so there wasn’t as much to see as there would be in the summer time, but I am still glad that I went. I had a delicious lunch (potatoes au gratin never tasted so good), and now I know that the best time to visit the Aran Islands is on a sunny day.

thumb_IMG_5858_1024

The second day was actually spent in Galway, and of course the weather was perfect. The sun was shining all day. It was hardly windy. The temperature was lovely. I started the day at the Galway City Museum, which was so so great. They have exhibits ranging from Bronze Age (I think…) artifacts and Irish history to the story of Gaelic Football in Galway. In March, they are opening a section on the history of the Easter Rising of 1916, which was not the beginning of, but the significant force that led to the independence of the Irish Republic.

thumb_IMG_5875_1024
The Spanish Arch
thumb_IMG_5876_1024
The River Corrib runs only six kilometers from Lough (Lake) Corrib to the ocean, but it is the second largest river in Ireland in terms of flow rate. Isn’t that wild?
thumb_IMG_5882_1024
Galway Bay
thumb_IMG_5908_1024
Galway Bay. I don’t believe there is anything as beautiful as a sunny day in Ireland.
One thought on “Ireland Part I

  1. Catherine,
    You are always having such amazing travels and experiences!
    All my best,
    Alton
    Enjoyed your article in the local newspaper last week.

    “life is a journey,” . . . . pick a direction, find some good traveling companions, and enjoy the trip, because there may be nothing at the end of the road. Haidt, The Happiness Hypothesis.

    Alton
    Alton Campbell, Ph.D.
    Director University Honors Program
    Room 315A, UI Commons
    University of Idaho, Moscow, ID
    Office: 208-885-7702
    Cell: 208-874-3614

    Like

Leave a Reply

