Paris.

Last night there were multiple terror attacks in Paris. Over 120 people are dead, and over 200 people are physically hurt, but the emotional toll is much greater. As you can imagine, that isn’t great news to wake up to on a Saturday morning. France has become my home over the past three months, and this home has been attacked. It is so strange to be so close to all of this, especially when I was in Paris just two days ago. I am glad that I am safe, but my heart is grieving for everyone affected by this tragedy. It is hard to put into words exactly how I am feeling because I am not quite sure myself. I am angry, frustrated, shocked, and just plain sad. My heart is so, so heavy.

In light of all of the world’s tragedy, it is hard to be hopeful, but I try to remain optimistic with the help of Mr. Rogers, who encouraged everyone to “Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.” For me, this is comforting, but each of us have to deal with it in our own way. Some will be enjoying a beautiful day in the park, not allowing the fear of terrorist groups to lay claim on their lives. Some will be reading the news and researching the best way to take a stand against these awful events. Some find solace in prayer. However you choose to deal with it, I encourage you to take the time to feel. I don’t claim to know everything, but I’m quite certain that being apathetic isn’t going to achieve anything. Take the time to think about the lives that were affected by last night’s events. Take the time to thank all of the helpers in Paris, and all over the world. Take the time to hang on a little longer when you hug your family this morning. Take the time to feel something because that is what sets us apart from mindless terror.

2 thoughts on “Paris.

  1. Thanks Cath for your essay. We are glad that you are OK. We are all shocked about what happened in Paris. That’s about the best way that I can put it.

    Be safe,

    Uncle Miguel.

    Sent from Windows Mail

    Like

Leave a Reply

